The South African Society of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (SASPOS) was formed in March 2013.

The aims of SASPOS are to advance education, research and quality of clinical practice in the fields of Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, and to provide an opportunity for colleagues with an interest in these fields to meet.

SASPOS now has a growing list of members and includes orthoptists, general ophthalmologists, retinal surgeons and oculoplastic surgeons with a special interest in paediatric ophthalmology.


President: Prof Christopher Tinley

Executive Committee Members: Dr's Claire Cullen, Nicola Freeman, Mark Jacoby and Aritha du Bruyn


15th International Strabismological Association Meeting

8 to 11 September 2022

ISA (isahome.org)


World Ophthalmology Congress

9 to 12 September 2022

WOC2022® | World Ophthalmology Congress (icowoc.org)


47th Meeting of the European Paediatric Ophthalmological Society

8 to 9 October 2022

EPOS 2022 - 8th - 9th October 2022 | in Munich